Bitcoin as a currency and benchmark

I recently discovered Bitcoin, and I’ve been running it on my laptop for some time, hoping to get luck. I haven’t, of course, and my wealth consists of 0.04 bitcoins. I got 0.05 from the Bitcoin Faucet, and lost 0.01 to transaction fees. I have, however, joined a mining pool called mining.bitcoin.cz. I’ve got it running on my server and my iMac, but my laptop has a bad overheating problem, and I fear that running the miner for too long would cause it to shutdown. I have successfully used cpuminer, but it was hell to compile on my mac. I had to steal a functional bitswap.h from OpenGL, and the bleeding edge wouldn’t compile due to, as far as I can tell, autoconfig issues. It compiled fine on my linux laptop and server, and I’ve got it running on my iMac and server. CPUMiner reports khash/sec regularly, so I can now say that my iMac is 4 times faster than my server, and my laptop is 5 times faster. Sadly, due to other, unsolved, compilation issues, I can’t take advantage of the GPU in my iMac, so I suspect that in raw power, my iMac actually wins the race, but I haven’t gotten a combination CPU/GPU miner running yet. I haven’t seen any payoff yet, so let’s hope I haven’t messed something up, and I am, in fact, contributing to the mining pool.

  1. Admiring the dedication you put into your site and in depth information you
    provide. It’s awesome to come across a blog every once
    in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed information. Excellent read!

    I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  2. I think this is one of the most significant info
    for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But want to remark
    on few general things, The site style is wonderful, the articles is really
    excellent : D. Good job, cheers

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

