Like a novel

So you know how in stories the brash, stupid young hero, usually a mage, learns of forbidden knowledge and reaches higher than he should? I feel sort of like that, only with out the terrible retribution. In my continued quest to build a java game around simulating a farm (a recent project,) I have separated game logic from the gui, as a good programmer should, and built the game logic. Well, I’m sure I’m going to add more to it, but I think it’s pretty finished. OK, I have barely worked on it, and it needs a lot of work. However, I wanted a nice an interface to play the game with. So I reached for the forbidden and arcane knowledge of gui creation, and I reached for it by taking a short cut through NetBeans, and I can tell you, it hasn’t been fun. Really. More than that, a command line interface also eluded me some how, with infinite loops and no input everywhere. I feel properly chastised. I guess I’ll go sit in a corner.

  1. You should check out Appcelerator Titanium. You can use Ruby code in it and it’s cross-platform!

  2. That would be interesting, except for the fact that I am better at normal programing than I am at web programing, so appcelerator would REALLY not help me.

    • jercos
    • February 23rd, 2010

    Aaaah, Java. Somehow, in trying to make everything easier and better, it made everything harder, and then strapped it down to OO. At least it doesn’t try to pretend to be a functional language at the same time… *cough* *cough* *Python* *cough*

  3. Failthon, gross.
    Also, 15-year-old jercos whacking a coconut with a hammer.
    Lolkoz.

  4. At some point, Kai is going to start a meme that will take over the world. Nobody else could have come up with lolkoz.

  5. It’s a form of jerkoz, which I have registered on Foonetic :D
    I don’t go on Foonetic anymore, though. Only Rizon and occasionally FreeNode.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

